Fuel preservative choices

What are your opinions and experiences with fuel additives. I have been using Star Tron in all my gas applications for a long time now. Sadly, everything I have has not been touched for a minimum of 4 summers. Some longer. 2018 was the last productive summer I had. Minibikes, Golf carts, chain saws, weed wackers and so on. I want to try and get these things sorted this winter and usable again for next summer. I am at least 3 years behind the curve of what is the current best practice.

Is there anything new on the market or any reasons not to go back with Star Tron in the fresh gas?

Thanks for contributing!

Doug

Sta-Bil Storage Fuel Stabilizer
I have been using it for over 20 years in our California ethanol -laden gasoline. I have some bikes that have had the same fuel in them for over 2 years with no problems whatsoever. The bikes start right up, run great and no carb problems. So I have never seen the need to buy ethanol-free gasoline.
Michael

Minimichael

Sta-Bil Storage Fuel Stabilizer
I have been using it for over 20 years in our California ethanol -laden gasoline. I have some bikes that have had the same fuel in them for over 2 years with no problems whatsoever. The bikes start right up, run great and no carb problems. So I have never seen the need to buy ethanol-free gasoline.
Michael
Sta-bil has worked for me on my mowers and sno-blowers the last 20 yrs. I add it to a half full tank before winterizing, run it a few minutes, and shut it down. I don't even shut the fuel off or drain the carb. Everything's pretty much always started right up the next season. Oh, and my mower lives outside.

Last edited:

Triley41395

I use a combo sta-bil and ethanol free gas and everything always works the next season. I use it in my tiller, mowers and chainsaws. I've only been into mini's for a short time but that is what I will do for them also.