Recent content by niquels

1. niquels

Niquels' - Doodlebug Build - (Chinese Class)

I started painting the header/muffler today using VHT header paint. I did a did a couple layers of white then started painting it red. I will finish the painting another day (I plan on also removing the paint from this bike and re-painting it as well). I purchased studs/nuts for the...
  2. niquels

We worked on securing the battery inside the ammo can today (and a previous day). Since the inside of the can isn't flat we decided to make a flat bottom out of wood. I decided I wanted the battery to be held in place by wood vs. using a strap/tie-down. I figure this will let me put...
  3. niquels

Yep, the Nano surprisingly has all the pins/memory that the Uno has, they're both using the ATmega328 chip. The hardest part was getting my computer to talk to it, I can send code to a regular arduino just fine but to get this one to work I had to install special "FTDI" drivers (and hop over to...
  4. niquels

Luckily the ammo can will let me hide all of this hardware ;)
  5. niquels

Yup, for this I bought a 4$ "clone" called the "Arduino nano v3". I bought a few more after I got it working, can't beat the price and size. I just got a simple version of the auto high beams working, it's just seeing if the value the sensor is reading is less than a certain threshold (works...
  6. niquels

Another small update.. I have pulled the head off the engine to see what length rod I need to order, it looks like I need the 20 thousands longer one. I will be ordering the rod, a cam, springs, retainers, gaskets, and other small parts soon! I have been working on a "dashboard" recently...
  7. niquels

That's a good idea too, I hadn't thought about it that way. When I add the tensioner to my bike I'm going to have to put the spring on the inside (unless I space out the ammo can a bit) so if I do the dual mount it sounds like it should be pretty sturdy.
  8. niquels