Recent content by Putter

1. Putter

I am an old retired guy. Do any of you still work for someone else?

Thanks! The open frame motor started life as a 1965 Pittman DC84 train motor. It's my most recent build, called a "magwinder." First ones were built in the 1960's. The motor comes with heavy end castings, a magwinder, built of magnesium, deletes the original castings. The builder puts ball...
  2. Putter

I am an old retired guy. Do any of you still work for someone else?

I was a machinist since 1970. Absolutely loved my job, creating beautiful goodies every day. Told folks I'd probably never retire and they'd find me dead in front of my machine some morning. (worked nights) Well, hit 64 and the guys I'd been working with for decades started getting seriously...
  3. Putter

What is this ugly thing?

That's a Briggs & Stratton 393010S Lo-Tone Muffler with a Briggs 399541 Spark Arrestor. Sounds great in my opinion.
  4. Putter

What is this ugly thing?

Yup, Baja. They do make a fun toy. Here's mine, built a few years ago with a few engine mods on its 212 Predator and torque convertor.
  5. Putter

What vintage Minibikes were made in Colorado?

Timbercycle of Denver manufactured a trailbike similar to Tote Gote called a Grizzly. Mine has a six horse Briggs and a high/low jackshaft. It does run but should be restored. I believe it was made around 1966 per the build code on the Briggs.
  6. Putter

Stripped threads

You can trust a Heli-coil. Before retirement, I was an aerospace machinist for decades. Every threaded hole in aluminum parts was heli-coiled from the start, brand new! You're trusting your life on them every time you fly.
  7. Putter

Need help in ID

Thank you, guys. It got sold before I got the sellers address! $50 Wahhh, next time. Can't win them all!
  8. Putter

Need help in ID

Hey guys, I'm guessing this is something I need to grab up. Can you help me in ID'ing it?
  9. Putter

Post your cars!