Started painting my Rupp Roadster 2.

GustoGuy

I started painting my 1971 Rupp Roadster 2 Green Metallic since that was the original color. Prepping the gas tank is the most drawn out process and I keep adding build up sanding primer to get rid of any small dents which there are quite a few which keep appearing when rotating the tank in the light. I figure I am building a resto-mod rider with Predator 212cc with a billet flywheel and ARC billet rod and a mukuni 22mm carburetor so I need not worry about building a period correct bike. So far I just started to paint the swingarm. Here is what it looks like. 20190901_225721_resized.jpg

GustoGuy

I went in to the paint shop that I use to get some Seat Verde Sanabria S6S mixed up and I was quoted $165.00 plus tax for just a pinto_O. The paint guy said they can mix nearly any custom colors with alternative base coats but it may not be a perfect match. So I brought in my swingarm which still had some of the paint in the swingarm hole and they scanned it and had them make up a custom color for which could be made for $48.00 or just 1/3 rd the price. Also I may not have enough either for all the pieces so I may need to get more made to finish it thankfully they wrote the coding down for the custom color. As of tomorrow I work all next week too. I now realize that prepping the frame is incredibly time consuming and dirty task. I now almost wish that I went with a heavy flake Metallic green powder coat on every thing except the gas tank (lead filler would melt) and rear fender which is fiberglass. There would be much less to paint. Also unless you get several coats of base coat on plus a clearcoat which this color needs then you can almost see right through it to the self etching primer. Since I used a torch to burn the rubber bushing out I think the color may look a little darker maybe "a bit smokey " It looks nice after the second coat and I will bring it out into the sun to see how it pops.

Harquebus