New guy here

nightgrider

Would this work if I welded a different header? It’s for a 2 stroke China kit. I have it laying around
I wouldn't suggest using the 2 stroke muffler. Depending on the muffler type. I've heard the packing is different between 2 and 4 stroke and a 2 stroke muffler can get too hot on a 4 stroke engine. But I've never personally tried it. If you are willing to weld. Hot dog 4 stroke mufflers are pretty cheep and you can weld the correct thread black pipe coupler on to a header to allow it to easily screw on and off.

nightgrider

I can weld but not well. Anyone with real welding experience would point, laugh and throw chipping hammers at me
Unless you're looking for show quality, a weld that doesn't leak is good enough. You can always grind down the weld to pretty it up. That's what I do. I'm no professional welder, I just need it to be functional. Ha ha

I wouldn't suggest using the 2 stroke muffler. Depending on the muffler type. I've heard the packing is different between 2 and 4 stroke and a 2 stroke muffler can get too hot on a 4 stroke engine. But I've never personally tried it. If you are willing to weld. Hot dog 4 stroke mufflers are pretty cheep and you can weld the correct thread black pipe coupler on to a header to allow it to easily screw on and off.
Would this count as a hot dog muffler?

Attachments

SAS289

Last year I fabbed an exhaust for my 196 and used a glass packed silencer of unknown name brand that I had laying around. The hottest part is where the pipe enters the silencer. Not sure yet if it will be an issue or not, but the silencer is repackable and I haven't lost any of the high temp paint I used. The header is only 3/4".

I replaced the efi with a carb and I have a different air filter on it. That leaves a hole in the valve cover. Can I plug that or is it necessary? I can always put on the old air box if it’s absolutely necessary

nightgrider