Paint or Powder Coat

Restoring an old Ruttman mini bike frame and hoping to make it really nice, show quality. Professional paint or powder coat - which is best? What are pros and cons of each? In my area, powder coat is cheaper than a good pro paint job.

desert rat

Powder coat is much easier to get full coverage. That being said I have painted three of my own frames with House of color top coat. PPG prep bases with 4 coats of speed clear. Those frames look like they are still wet. I don't think you can do that with powder coat. The paint would cost about $800.00 to $1000.00 each to have done the way I did them, I was a professional painter at the time. Each one of my spray guns were over $800.00 a piece. Paint can cost alot to have done. http://www.satausa.com/index.php?id=satajet4000bhvlp&L=11#ad-image-0

Attachments

Powder coat is much more durable….I’ve got the “wet” look out of powder….and as soon as it’s cooled down (usually15-20 minutes)you can assemble….I’ve dropped it banged it with wrenches when assembling still looks good….I do like paint too….The bonanza I just finished is paint….had to take it to a painter….only have about $250 in it…

Powder coat is much easier to get full coverage. That being said I have painted three of my own frames with House of color top coat. PPG prep bases with 4 coats of speed clear. Those frames look like they are still wet. I don't think you can do that with powder coat. The paint would cost about $800.00 to $1000.00 each to have done the way I did them, I was a professional painter at the time. Each one of my spray guns were over $800.00 a piece. Paint can cost alot to have done. http://www.satausa.com/index.php?id=satajet4000bhvlp&L=11#ad-image-0
Beautiful work!!!!

desert rat

I don't have much powder coat exp. but I will never paint another frame, I'm just over doing that much work and all the ones I have left to do will be riders.

desert rat

But that green is OUTTA CONTROL! As we pm'd bout it awhile back!