Craftsman 179cc

So I may have screwed up, and probably posting in the wrong section, but here goes.
The grandson blew up the 212 in the go kart last time he was out to visit. I live 200 plus miles from a Harbor Freight. So I can't just pop in to get a replacement engine. And they are never in stock it seems. I've stopped at 2 and had a couple buddies stop when they have been by one. No luck getting an engine. So I decided the next best thing would be whatever the thrift store had. I bought a snow blower with a 179cc Craftsman for $50. I got it running mostly with a carb cleaning.
So here is my oops moment. It has a 7/8" shaft. I'm not seeing any options for a clutch for it. Am I not looking hard enough? Did Craftsman do something crazy and machine a 1" shaft down to 7/8"? I'm not an expert but the engine looks like a Predator with an electric starter on it. It had no air filter, because snow blower. So I put on a filter I go from Gopowersports

Attachments

http://www.maxtorque.com/

You can contact them directly to get a clutch in your size.. I remember reading about it here on oldminibikes.com.
That lead nowhere. I called them who sent me North American Clutch with a phone #. Who sent me to a distributor, who only has 5/8" 3/4" & 1".

Maybe I can machine the shaft down to 3/4" with a file, while it runs. Then cut a groove back in for the key way. Not sure how sketchy that would be, but looks like the only way to use this engine. Any other suggestions?

Triley41395

That lead nowhere. I called them who sent me North American Clutch with a phone #. Who sent me to a distributor, who only has 5/8" 3/4" & 1".

Maybe I can machine the shaft down to 3/4" with a file, while it runs. Then cut a groove back in for the key way. Not sure how sketchy that would be, but looks like the only way to use this engine. Any other suggestions?
Maybe make a sleeve with 1 inch diameter .060 wall tubing .cut a slot for the key and get a wider key. I personally would not try to file it.