1972 Rupp Huslter restoration

Hi all.

This is my first attempt at restoring a vintage minibike... I mostly restore old radios and TV's, but these Rupps are so SWEET. I bought this at an auction and now I am addicted. It came with some Chinese motor on it. A 49cc thing. It actually did go pretty good with that motor on it. I bought a HS40 from an Ariens snow blower at a swap meet and made what I think is a pretty nice Rupp clone. I machined a 20 degree spacer to give the carburetor the correct tilt (can be seen in the photos) I have ordered a new replacement carb for it. I also installed new points, condenser and coil. I have already bought another basket case Rupp from craigslist too. I think I have the bug.... Seems like the engines and jackshafts are the hard parts to find. Here are some photo's of my progress. Any advice or constructive criticisms welcome.

Attachments

buckeye

Very nice.

You have any pics of just the spacer. You could sell those babies..

Welcome to OldMiniBikes.
And I assume you aren't using the torque converter.

HI Buckeye,

I am trying to restore it as close to original as possible. I did get a complete Jack shaft for it. I need a clutch though. I saw that someone at some point was selling those spacers. I read old posts and that's how I got the idea to make the spacer. I blatantly copied it from pictures and info on old posts. In one thread they even gave pretty much the exact dimensions. If someone needed one I am not above helping them out.
IMG_0648.JPG

Some parts that have been media blasted and powder coated. Waiting on the Chrome powder coat so I can do the Mag wheels and brake drums ETC.. IMG_0649.JPG

Good luck on the build, keep us posted. Man that motor that was on the bike looks like the motor i have on my komatsu weed wacker. :laugh:
Welcome aboard.

Welcome to the forum. Nice project and looking good.:thumbsup: Its pretty easy to catch the bug.:laugh: Living in Mich, you could have 10 projects in no time.:laugh: