Another New Guy Intro

Got an invite in my email & decided to sign up. Earlier this Spring I picked up a vintage Tote Goat. I went to the Tote Goat site & tried to sign up, but never got a response. So maybe I'll have better luck here.

The Goat is a runner, has an older style B&S, perhaps 7-8 hp, and a Comet T/C. It has 2 jackshafts and a tractor tread rear tire - you can't stop it! The throttle is still hooked up to the governor, but the throttle control spring seems too light - it only revs up to about 2000rpm governed speed. That coupled with the double reduction yields only about 15 mph. I need to spend an evening working on it to get the throttle squared away. I'd liike to get some info on tracking down the exact model engine I have and some set-up info on the T/C belt tension (seems way too tight now).

I've been rebuilding older motorcycles for about 20 years - Nortons, BSAs, BMWs, Guzzis, and Ducatis, but I always remember where my attraction to 2-wheel transport originated. The Goat was nice & clean, and running - I couldn't pass it up.

I see some others here are in the St Louis are (Riverport swap meet thread). Was wondering if there was ever a meet-up at a place where one could wring out the old bikes around these parts. I have a couple pals with mini bikes too; one with a 2-speed Sears & another with a 2-speed Sachs powered machine. We have been talking about doing a trail ride. Always open to new ideas.

Hope not to be too much of a thorn in your sides with the silly questions. Thanks for the opportunity to introduce myself!

Joe in St Louis
Tote-Goat
Nortons
Guzzis
Ducati

Hey Jumpjg

I like the Tote Gotes. I had one, it was a collegiate. It was made in the early 60s for collage students. It was missing the brake. I went to toegote.org and asked a few questions a few different times with no responce. I just stoped using the site, and sold the Tote Gote. Im going to get another someday.