Cat 250X for $5 bucks

snoop

Hello Everyone,

My name is Snoop.

I am new to Mini bikes, Hell I never even saw one until I got mines. OK
Last year I bought a Cat250x for $5 bucks off a neighborhood junkie, that he found in the trash. I just got around to working on it. I am doing a engine swap because the Briggs 2.5 hp engine that came on it was shot. I got a Honda GX200 engine for it. Does anybody know if a torque converter will work with this frame? and where could I get some fenders for this bike?

Thanks

This is what it looked like when I got it. minus all the dirt and oil that was on it
View attachment 76960
View attachment 76961
View attachment 76962

Last edited:

buckeye

Welcome to OldMiniBikes.

Pics aren't picing. .

Head over this,way in a couple of weeks.
We'll tell ya if a tav fits.:laugh:

snoop

yes, I plan on rebuilding it. The Engine was not as bad as I thought. The cylinder was has a few light scratches. The gas tank was full of rust and I will need a new blower housing.

45t

You did well getting that for $5. If it were mine I'd keep it original. Its a 1969 Cat 250X with the original green paint showing through. You have the original Briggs engine with the clutch cover mounts (which are hard to find), the original grips are still there too. The only thing your missing is the clutch cover and peg & scrub brake rubber covers. You can get a new seat made here on OldMiniBikes from another member or recover what you have and a repaint on the frame and wheels to original colors would preserve the bike to an original look. Just my two cents

still, its a very nice original find. Well done.:thumbsup:

snoop