Cat 250X with BIG MOTOR: HELP!!

snoop

Hello All.

I need help. I am still new to mini bikes so...
I am working on a cat200x with a big motor on it. when I just crack the throttle to engage the clutch, it pops an aggressive wheelie! what can I do to stop this from happening?

my setup: Stock cat 250x, Honda gx200 motor and a Hilliard Extreme Duty clutch - 12 tooth

Any help would be appreciated!

Thanks

buckeye

Wheelie bar?
Less throttle?:laugh:

How big is your rear sprocket?

That's a whole lotta engine for that small frame.

snoop

Thanks Guys. I don't know about wheelie bars, LOL but Yes, I have the stock 250x rear. why such a big engine? well, like I said. I am new to mini biking. I wanted a reliable engine with a little more hp than stock. I originally wanted a Briggs motor but they are made in china nowadays, so I decided to go with Honda, and since the gx 120. gx 160 and the gx200 are basically the same price. I just went with the gx200. I have a Honda gx340 on my pressure washer and it is very reliable. I was going to sell the original 2.5 Briggs but I think it will be fun to rebuild and maybe put back on the bike.

You can also go up on the clutch teeth. I'm guessing you have a 68t rear sprocket. Going down to a 60t will help but it still may be a handful on such a short wheelbase

Sent from my Texas Instruments Speak and Spell...[emoji2]

bikebudy

Banned - Must pay $500
^^ Yes, Smaller sprocket on the rear is less Torque higher top end.

Larger sprocket on the clutch less revolutions per .

The only issue is once you get under a 12/60 or 5:1 ratio, it becomes very taxing on a stick clutch. I'm not sure where you ride, but it is definitely something to consider.

Sent from my Texas Instruments Speak and Spell...[emoji2]

toomanytoys