Craftsman Mystery Engine

Hey Folks, I just picked up an old Craftsman engine (grey one on the left). Pretty sure it’s an H35 (side-popper), but I can’t find any Tecumseh crossover for this model (143-584132). Stamping makes me think it’s from either ‘69 (nice), or '81.

20190404_113821.jpg
20190404_114049.jpg
I am completely new to mini-bikes, and small engines in general although I do know my way around a small block Chevy. My goal for right now is just to get it running. I bought a new carb off of eBay, and aside from a new plug, I really don’t want to invest any more money than I have to. If I can get it running, then I’ll pick up the governor link ($7?!), mini-bike specific throttle linkage, air cleaner, etc.

My question for right now is, do I absolutely need the governor link to test the engine? Can I open the throttle manually, or does the governor lever have to move in relation to the throttle?

Also, aside from new oil and changing the plug, what do you all recommend checking/doing before firing up an engine with unknown origins?

Thanks in advance for your help!

-Tony C

It's an H35-45235G Note: I have heard twice recently that "it has to be an H35 because it's a side popper." It doesn't. Out of four side poppers I am currently using for various projects, one is an H35, two are H30's that look (and measure) identically, and one is an H25.

I am going to say 1978, but I screw up dates all the time, and wait around for markus to show up because I don't want to look stupid on a mini bike forum.

If you bought a cheap Chinese carburetor for about ten bucks, the low speed setting is going to be from barely cracked open to a half of a turn in general, and bottom high speed will be out about a turn. This is a starting place to get it running.