Cylinder/Round Gas tanks...

I received a gift yesterday, complete surprise... A TIG WELDER... I jumped right in, no practice... but I have spent a couple of years watching weldingtipsandtricks vids... so wasnt as afraid to do so, as i thought i would be... anyhow... i had a friend make me a few bungs, billet gas caps, etc... a while ago... i thought i would start a cylinder tank project... if I get good enough, maybe they will sell to cover cost of materials for more practice with the welder... this is my first attempt...

I figured I would start a thread on cylinder tanks to kick it off...

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-6p3d_EZeKI&feature=youtu.be

CarPlayLB

G! I think we just became better friends! Hahaha ...that is bad ass! A lot of folks around you feel blessed to know you, and it shows! Great job for a first attempt! You are fearless...are you really SuperMan?

G! I think we just became better friends! Hahaha ...that is bad ass! A lot of folks around you feel blessed to know you, and it shows! Great job for a first attempt! You are fearless...are you really SuperMan?
wow, thanks very much! gonna stick with it and get as good as i can, real quick here... im told steel is easier to weld, so looking forward to that too... but really wanted to be able to weld aluminum... crossing my fingers this holds pressure.. and no leaks... but doesnt really matter, cause its all in practice for me

im told steel is easier to weld, so looking forward to that too... but really wanted to be able to weld aluminum...
It depends, I often find aluminum easier to weld than steel.
Congratulations on your new welder! Not sure if you want to say what make and model the welder is or what size, but TIG welders are super useful. Couple weeks ago I repaired a broken cast iron vise by TIG braising it with silicon bronze rod.

Tank looks good, nice job!

bikebudy

Banned - Must pay $500
Real Nice work LS, I've wanted to make a Stainless steel tank for sometime now.