Di Blasi R7 Folding Motor Bike

nightgrider

After stumbling across an image of one of these this morning. I've kind of become obsessed with it. I'd love to build something similar if I can, but that is probably a pipe dream at this point. I looked around on the site, looks like there are a few post on these Di Blasi mopeds but not many. I found a retailer out of Florida, but a new one is a bit pricey for me right now. I just think it is neat.

1637613771746.png 1637613771746.png

Last edited:

nightgrider

Here is the American website. https://www.diblasi.com/ It is an Italian company they've been making a similar folding moped since at least the early 70s or so. Now they even make an electric version. I'm not an expert, but this is what I've been able to find on poking around on the internet. There's also several videos of them on YouTube.

Last edited:

nightgrider

I think for me it depends on the frame construction and engine displacement. Though I can see inconsistencies even in my own categorization. Example, I'd call a Lambretta a scooter, but I'd call a yamaha razz a moped. I think some of my personal definition just goes back to what people referred to transportation of that type when I was growing up. I can see how this by the technical definition is not a moped because it does not have pedals. Though now I'm interested into how everyone here would categorize the Di Blasi.

desert rat

Interesting. :scooter:
A moped is a bicycle-type vehicle (or two-wheeled vehicle), equipped with pedals and a low-powered engine that provides an economical mode of transportation. ... Most states classify a moped with a 50cc or less engine and a maximum speed of 28-30 miles per hour.

Commonly seen on the roads in the United States (aside from motorcycles) are scooters, or motor scooters. A scooter is defined as a two-wheeled vehicle with a step-through chassis and footrest platform.