Does anyone make/smoke their own sausage?

I have been craving Summer Sausage lately and want to make some...I have been reading about "cold smoking" sausage and it seems the more I read the more difficult it gets. It seems that it should be pretty straight forward. An enclosed box to hold smoke. A smoke generator. And something to generate a small amount of heat. I have an old upright smoker that would serve as the smoke box. Still trying to figure out the simplest/best way to make a constant source of heat. Anybody have any experience with cold smoking? Smoking BBQ is not a problem and an entirely different subject. I have been smoking BBQ for 25 years but have never tried cold smoking.

I did find a website with lots of recipes. They have some strange stuff. Fish sausage??? Vegan sausage??? I believe it is European based judging by some of the combinations

Sausage Recipes (meatsandsausages.com)

I make fresh sausage but have never tried smoking to preserve it. Mine goes straight into the freezer. Good luck with your project and please post updates. From what I've read you need to be really careful because it's all about controlling the bacteria that preserve the meat and give it that slightly sour flavor. I do make smoked bacon and pastrami, but that's a whole different deal.

Once you have all your sausage stuffed into casings you need to hang it in the kitchen. Here is the important part. After hanging it you need to light a cigar and strip down to your skivies. It must be frigid outside and you need to go outside to smoke your cigar. This is the critical part. You stay outside in the "Cold" and keep "Smoking" until your sausage is almost but not quite frozen. A minute too long and it freezes and becomes useless. Once you've come back inside and your sausage is back to room temperature it should be ready for serving.