Help with 5hp Briggs side cover bearing removal

I've got a 5hp Briggs that I just started tearing down for a mild build. This is my first time building a flathead, so I kind of have no idea what I'm doing. Plans are billet parts, a mild cam and carb. Upon tear down, I found out that the engine already had a copper head gasket, dual valve springs and a full governor removal done. The head looks to be stock and I'm not sure about the cam. It looks like it has about .212 lift, but I haven't been able to find any stock specs for Briggs cams.

On to my question...

The side cover bearing is stuck on the crank. I'm not sure what kind of puller I should be using on it. I have one of the 3 jaw ones shown in the attached pic. I cranked on it a bit (not very hard at all), but it didn't budge. Before I go full hog on this thing, I'm wondering if I'd be better off using a bearing separator/puller like the one in the link below.

https://www.amazon.com/8MILELAKE-Separator-Puller-Splitters-Bearings/dp/B01MRZLZ6J

This whole setup is going to be going in a custom frame I have that's inspired by the GPS Rascal build. I have no idea why I'm so intimidated by this engine. I know they're less complicated than the OHV engines, which I'm 100% comfortable with building up from a bare case.

Attachments

It's supposed to stay on like that then? I've only built clone/Predator engines and they haven't had a bearing that stays on the crank like that.

How do you line up the cam? I noticed there was a dot on the counterweight. Do you use that?

Like I said, I'm not familiar with these engines at all. I haven't seen that bearing on the crank in any of the videos I've watched on these Briggs engines. I figured it had just kind of seized itself onto the crank.