Power Bee 58021 Engine 4hp - Restoration Questions!

Seb

Hi there,
Just to preface - I am very new to vintage engine restoration - so thanks in advance!

I'm looking to learn some more about a Power Bee 580 engine I bought off ebay - as I would like to restore it back to a really nice condition.

The below information is what I have from the seller so far.
From the pictures can and description can any one tell me what I should order ahead of time? (If there is somewhere to actually order it) or possibly direct me to someone who may have some extra parts for sale?

I'm also looking for general advice as to how I should tackle restoring this, I'd like to make it nice and shiny and firing up reliably, possibly to put on an old mini bike.

I have a spare old delorto carberator, would something like that work on this?

This is the info I have on it so far:
"Power Bee 58021 Engine 4hp. Condition is "For parts or not working". Motor has compression and piston is not scared up , plastic bowl on carb is broken off , no spark , pull start slips a little when pulling motor over . I pulled this off a tamper . Sold as is , no returns , U.S. shipping only"

Thanks!!

Attachments

Addicted 2 Minis

From your pictures it looks like it might have a non-tapered crank as it has clutch weights still on it. Most of the tamper engines do have a tapered crank though. If it's not getting spark, that's actually a good thing as it was probably running up until it lost spark which means the internals are probably good. You can convert the points over to solid state with a NOVA II module or the equivalent copy. Just do an eBay search for universal ignition module until you find one like the attached images.

1617672271421.png
1617672333772.png

Seb, the 58021 was built for the Bud Corporation, Columbus, OH for a tamper, it has a straight pto shaft. It should be easy to find a clutch to fit that pto, if not contact Jim Donovan at MaxTorque, he will build you a clutch for your application.