Rupp TC1 Jackshaft Disassembly

furyus

Wow, taking my Black Widow down to the bare frame has turned out to be a lot more work than I anticipated. A previous owner either was a massive gorilla or used power tools to install the rear shocks. The little bushings in the shock eyes were completely distorted and had actually started pulling through the nuts. the seat pan was also bent from the amount of torque used to install the shocks. Took a bunch of time to remove those rear shocks.

Now I'm trying to disassemble the torque converter jackshaft. I've never done so before, and know squat about how these things go together or come apart. I've done a search, and saw "set screws" mentioned, but I don't think that applies to the Rupp set up for '71. I do not see set screws in my parts break down. I do see a key, but don't see how to get at it. I'm sure corrosion is part of the problem, even though the shaft itself spins freely. I've got the shaft soaking in Liquid Wrench right now. My fear is that Magilla Gorilla put the jack shaft together, too, because that pup will not break loose. It may be optical illusion, but the end of the shaft by the flanges looks a little egg-shaped. I'm guessing I'm going to have to apply heat, but that'll mean taking it to work and spending lunchtime on it, which is fine except that I want to work on it today, dang it!

Any good tips or help on TC1 tear-down would be sincerely appreciated.

furyus