Valve lash

RSN

My valves look different than the one in the YouTube videos. Do I set the lash with the top screw? It seems like it's ether tight or loose- no way to set the lash. But I am new to these things. Sitting here looking at this thing now. Replaced the springs but now I am confused about tightening it all down...

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD

RSN

Decided to just stop and put it back together with original springs - don't need em yet anyway. OF COURSE, IT WONT START NOW.

Why?

RSN

So, the threaded screw needs to be adjusted and then the nut on top. Ah... Understand now.
Didn't think I moved that screw at all but must have while tightening the nut a bit?
Sensitive lil fella. Ok. So, I will remove the valve cover again tomorrow, and adjust the lash. I will use some needle nose pliers to adjust the screw... shorten the gap to .003, then put the nut back on. Correct?

RSN

I may be wrong... Looking at it. Is there a write up? Or just a short explanation and I will run with it. Thanks all.

Decided to just stop and put it back together with original springs - don't need em yet anyway. OF COURSE, IT WONT START NOW.

Why?

Need to make sure both valves are loose before you start adjusting. Best way I've found is to pull the spark plug out and watch the piston come up to the top or TDC, if one valve is still tight ..roll the engine over again slowly till the piston comes up again. Both valves or rocker arms need to be slightly loose thats when its on a compression stroke, and time to adjust.

RSN

Ok. I'll try that. Both seemed very tight... No give, so I will roll it over until I get some wiggle room. Thanks.

Ok. I'll try that. Both seemed very tight... No give, so I will roll it over until I get some wiggle room. Thanks.

Nut is the jam nut ot lock nut, loosen it and turn the little screw to adjust, then jam the nut down to hold your adjustment.

RSN

So a gap the size of a paper width is keeping the engine from starting? Or lack of?

RSN