tecumseh 2-13/16 bore piston

cfh

I have bored a late model HSSK50 motor (with smaller bore and thin ring piston) to use an old school HS50 thick ring piston. It actually works quite well. The HSSK50 motor was really worn, needed .020 over. Guess what... a stock thick ring HS50 piston is .020 over a new style thin ring piston! So it's like you found an endless supply of .020 over pistons...

delray. i reread your hs40 build in its entirety. had a buddy with harley 45 cubic inch flat head took the babbit bearings out put timken roller bearings in it. this is back in 1981 we were all amazed. your needle bearing on the mag side is skilled and artful work. undercutting the valve stems at the top (tuelliping) is reserved for hight end race engines and your idea for welding the flats in the back of the bowl outside the case is excellent. i wonder if you can fit the torch - -scratch that idea i just looked at the block. I'm a welder. i don't think you can fit even a small handle tig torch in there. your bowl porting is spot on. don't mirror polish the intake side. a ruff surface will atomize the fuel a lot better. by the looks of it i think the intake port on these require a lot more cleanup than the exhaust. but you'd no better than me. i would like to relieve the block (shave the block from just past the valve seat to the bore) but there is almost zero room. i know is not really needed but its the cool factor. i can see this is not your fist time around the block building these engines. far from it. looking at your machine work like markus paint and attention to detail is gonna make me strive for for perfection. thats a real nice hs40 build. i hope mine turns out half as nice.i will keep you posted. anthony.