CVT help please??

wfc

Hi, I just bought a torque converter with gearbox that came out of a 70's model snowmobile. The guy I bought it from imported it from the States about 30 yrs ago to use on a gokart, but never got around to it. I am thinking of using it on an offroad gokart I am currently building together with a honda gx390 engine. It has forward, neutral and reverse with a disc and calliper for brakes. I have no experience with torque convertors befor now.
My question is: How do I determine how far appart the clutch assembly pully and the pully on the gearbox have to be? It is obviously determined by the belt to some extent, but the gearbox pully opens up, and that changes the distance, so where do I start?
Also, could anyone tell me where I might find some more information on this setup? The only markings on it are on the Clutch pully where it says "Bombardier instant torque" I am adding some pics to show what it looks like. Thanks for your help.

Pull the outer half off the engine pulley.With the belt riding in the outside of the pulley on the gearbox, pull the slack forward by pinching the front loop of the belt. You should have 1/8-1/4" gap around the center pin of the drive pulley. The belt will look loose when not running or idling. When the rpms go up the drive pulley will close in on the belt causing it to ride up higher in the pulley and away you go. Nice setup you have there.:thumbsup: Slot the engine mount holes or geabox mounting holes. When you get a close measurement, so you can fine tune.

wfc

Thanks Jimh,