Gearing ratio and Sprocket blank sources.

So I have a Minico or Zebra miniblike (not sure which) I've been tinkering with on and off for a few years.
It has a Predator 212 that has been moderately upgraded with performance parts. I adapted a Torque converter with a jackshaft mounted 7" driven pulley. My jack-shaft has a 9 tooth sprocket and my rear sprocket is a 37 tooth, which makes the final drive ratio approx 4 to 1. I'm thinking this is way too high. I have 8" rims, and with the tires makes them ~ 15" diameter - further upping my ratio.

I'm thinking I should be shooting for closer to a 6 to 1 ratio (9 front, 54 rear). Or should I go bigger in the rear? Also, I'll have to use a blank sprocket, as this is such an oddball brand. So far I've found this outfit:
Go Kart Galaxy - Sprocket Blanks
Prices seam kinda high, but what do I know. Any thoughts on gearing or sources for sprocket blanks?

Thanks, JB

Last edited:
Nice bike..looks like that 9t-37t will be about 40mph @ 3600 rpm.not bad if you're happy with the low end..the 54t -28mph.pretty much a wheelie machine coz the tc low end grunt..41 or 42t 35mph is in the middle..those sprocket prices are pretty much normal

Last edited:
Thanks Raskin. Your input will definitely factor into my decision. I think I may be getting higher than 3600 rpm after this latest re-do. Governor is gone and it will have a flat top piston, +0.020 billet rod, billet flywheel, .650 bored carb, CS grind cam, 22# valve springs, cleaned up intake and exhaust ports, and free(er) flowing air filter and exhaust.

I know I don't want it to go much faster than 40 mph though. I wasn't aware the TC gave it that much more grunt - good to know. I'll probably go with your suggestion of 5 to 1(ish).

Last edited:

MB165

the blanks from gokart galaxy are made by Azusa, I don't know if all are but, the ones I have purchased are aluminum