Gonna buy a welder ... Tig or Mig?

I'm a die Maker, I can Tig.
I have no Mig experience.

I'm just going to be goofing around at home .. is there any reason I would want to go Mig instead of Tig?

DonK

MIGs are usually less expensive, but not as versatile. TIG is harder to learn IMO, but since you already know how, it will be no problem.

DaddyJohn

Mig is a bit more portable/flexible if you’re doing outside or out of position work. Say, your car exhaust, etc. Might be better for heavier stuff too, like building a trailer or something.

I own both and hands down tig. The mig is faster and better for ferrous metal welding but if you are going to weld stainless you need to change from the normal 25/75 mix to 5% or less CO2 otherwise the weld can rust and aluminum with a mig can cause jams unless you use a spool gun and the welds look kinda crapy although I am far from a skilled welder and some of my aluminum welding looks more like soldering so your mileage may vary. . With a AC/DC tig you can weld most anything and also do SI/bronze brazing, cast iron with a special rod ect.

DaddyJohn

I have a Hobart 140 for 110V and a Millermatic 180 for 220V usage, both with C25 gas. Mostly use to weld bits and bobs to cycle projects, repair mower decks/OPE, general home projects, crafts, a bit of everything really. They do, however, fall short doing fine precision stuff, thin sheet metal, or non-ferrous stuff.

rugblaster

I have both.....I still use both for different things. Tig is more technical, on the other hand mig is relatively easy. I taught my 8 year old daughter to use it. Once the wire speed and voltage are set, your in bidness. The multi-process units are interesting. I have Miller, Lincoln and Hobart. Recently, a friend of mine got a inverter Everlast tig machine. He said it works fine. This guys website and youtube channel has a lot of good tips and tricks and have helped me improve.

https://www.weldingtipsandtricks.com/