jackshaft help

i need ur help.
the mini i picked up yesterday (i am new to minis) came mostly in pieces. the the jack shaft measures out to 9/16. I know nothing about these so bear with me. one sprkt is 12t, the other is 24t. the bearings are non existent. this is were i get lost.http://www.oldminibikes.com/forum/images/smilies/confused.gif the holes in the frame are 1 3/8 inch. I have been looking at kits and cant figure out what holds every thing together. I realize the shaft diameter dosnt mater if I get a kit. how do I know the bearings r going to fit in the wholes with out any slop. also i havent seen any kits with a sprocket as big as 24t. if i go with a smaller sprocket with the bike be faster or slower? this is for a 6 year old so i dont need a rocket at this point. thanks for any info!

dean heintz

125ccCrazy

standard jackshaft and wheel bearings are 5/8 i.d and 1 3/8" o.d so they will fit your application..

I have never seen a 9/16 jackshaft but thats not to say there were some wierd stuff made over the years..

If you go smaller than 24 on the wheel side of the jackshaft you will have faster take off and less top speed..

If your gears are actually 9/16 i.d you may be able to drill them out with a nice new 5/8 drill in a drillpress on slow speed and then file the key slot deeper with a good bastard file..

Dean, Buy yourself a couple of bearings like crazy is talking about 5/8 id x 1 3/8 od. You want the kind with a "snap ring" around the outside of the bearing. That is what keeps it in place once you install the jackshaft. Don't even attempt to drill your sprockets. Most likely they have been hardened and you will just burning up a bunch of 5/8" drill bits which money would have been better spent buying a couple of 5/8" id sprockets. The sprockets can be ground out to 5/8" id but that too would cost more than buying new ones. Ogy