Mikuni Idle Problem

Well, I finally started the engine on the MTD build tonight. I can't seem to get the idle lowered though. I checked the slide on the Mikuni and it's bottomed out as it should be. The idle screw is turned out as far as it would go without completely falling out of the carb. It's idliing so high that the TC is engaging.
Can the mixture clip adjustment on the slide cause a high idle situation?
I also used the rubber hose to make an angled intake and I'm also wondering if I'm drawing air in at one of the hose clamps....
I attached a photo of my set up. I have never worked on a Mikuni before and it's a learning curve for sure.
Any suggestion are appreciated.
Thanks,
Larry

Last edited:

Kenny1

The first thing that comes to mind is what kind of cable end do you have attached to the slide. If it is a barrel end it may be causing the slide not to drop down to the idle position.

Use some brake cleaner or cold based solvent that evaporates fast. Spray it lightly around the hose clamps to see if you have a air leak while it's running if the idle jumps higher you have a air leak. Fix and see where your idle is and then try to adjust the carb. I don't know much about the carb your using but I'm sure someone on here will help!

Use some brake cleaner or cold based solvent that evaporates fast. Spray it lightly around the hose clamps to see if you have a air leak while it's running if the idle jumps higher you have a air leak. Fix and see where your idle is and then try to adjust the carb. I don't know much about the carb your using but I'm sure someone on here will help!
X2.

I'm thinking vacuum leak somewhere. Slide may not be fully seated while engine is running. Try lowering the needle to the lowest position.

How does the float level look?

Your pic looks pretty cool! When do we get to see the rest of the bike?

P.S. What kind of tire is that?

Last edited: