Min Crank for clutch

I just got a GX160 from a friend and want to use it on my first minibike build that im working on.
1. Shaft is 3/4" and 1 1/4" Long. Will a standard clutch fit on this?

2. It does have a keyway but no bolt hole. I am planning to get one threaded in. Anyone know what size bolt should be threaded?

This is my very first attempt to build a mini bike.

Thanks in advance for any help.

MB165

It should work you may have to mount the clutch so the chain is outside. make sure you have good engegment with the key
tap it 5/16"-24

Thanks

Thanks for the response. I really needed to know that I didn't have to replace the crank. just to clarify- what does the 24 stand for?

MB165

24 is the amount of turn per inch (thread pitch)
That short shaft, its gonna be interesting to see how it works out...

Last one

Do I have tO go that deep on the threads? What do you think about using a shorter thread with lock tight on the bolt end? The bike will not be a speed demon but just something to putt around on.

Last edited:
I think you are confused on "Thread Pitch". When someone post 5/16 x24, what that means is the threads per inch are 24. This is called a Fine Thread. 5/16x18 is a Course Thread.
The greater the number of threads, the stronger the "hold" the bolt will have. By having more threads per inch will also help prevent the bolt from coming loose as it has more threads ( friction) than the course thread bolt. Fine threads also help prevent you stripping ( pulling out) the bolt as you tighten the clutch onto the crank shaft. Use a hole at least 1" deep to hold the clutch on. Deeper is better.