Something you don't see anymore

IMG_20230907_134307.jpg I got the wheel put back on the right way. I think the clutch idler was designed to stay engaged unless the operator squeezed the handle on the left handlebar. That will not work in this century. That flimsy center stand is not enough to make me feel safe while that tire is spinning. If it comes off that stand it is really hard to stop it.

IMG_20230907_122001.jpg This came from the scrap pile and ALMOST became a part of the power hoe. We also looked at hooking up a Surrey or small trailer behind it. There are two holes in the back of the frame. I think they only put them there to tease lazy old guys.

I am not a painter. I remind my wife all the time. I retired from fixing cars so I can pretend to be a farmer and enjoy my collection of obsolete farm junk. I am actually a very good woodworker, but not a carpenter. A have been welding for 50 years. I can do pretty welds, but not out in the wind with rusty old stuff and flux core wire. I have always used the same, rude two word challenge for anybody who doesn't like the looks of my welds.
That building where I am working on this thing is the only one with concrete floor, so it is where I weld. It is also the only one with heat, so it is where the pullets (baby hens) spent this past spring. They need to be kept at about 80 degrees until they get all their feathers. The pine shavings on the floor do present a fire hazard, but I never pull everything out of there and sweep that floor until they start laying about November. Then they go out to what we call the "chicken zoo".
Oh, the two words for critics of my welds?

Break one.

Well, it starts and runs. No noise, no leaks and no smoke. I don't think it likes the 2 stroke mix I put in the tank. It was dosed with the last of my Sea Foam and I wanted to be sure the 1998 emissions junk nonadjustable carburetor had every last chance at life before I condemn it.