Baja DoodleBug DB30 Jackshaft or Torque Converter?

Nimdy

This is my first post here, so please be patient if I'm asking something that has already been asked a thousand times.

So I'm a junior high school student, and in my state, we have to complete an EA project (Extended Application) to graduate. The project is supposed to be based on a potential future job. As I wanted to become a Mechanical Engineer and design engines for automotive and industrial purposes, I made my project to modify a Predator 212 and see how much performance I could squeeze out of it. Long story short, I now have a Baja DoodleBug bike that I will swap a Predator 212 on it, and I need to do some before and after measurements of how it performs on the bike. For this purpose, I need to be able to adjust the gear ratios to keep the top speed around 20-25 mph. Since between my initial and final tests, the engine's top rpm will range from 3600-6000, I need a lot of adjustability, and just swapping the rear sprocket isn't going to give me that.

I will be mostly testing the bike on dirt and gravel trails, so at first, I thought a torque converter because the gear reduction would allow me to use a much wider range of rear sprockets. Or I could use a jack-shaft and have a lot of adjustability in the ratio just by changing the sprockets; that sounds much cheaper and more reliable. What do you guys think is best for this project? I don't know enough about how a jack-shaft or torque converter responds to conditions like this.

A jack shaft would give you a constant gear ratio. It would also give you multiple options when changing ratios, because you can change 4 different sprockets to come up with a huge selection of ratios.
Torque converters are versatile because they do give a low starting ratio and they automatically adjust to driving conditions by "downshifting" as RPMs drop.
If I understand your project correctly, you would need a constant ratio, so I think a jackshaft would work best.