Bride of Frankenstein - a cure for leftover parts cluttering the workshop.

Mini Bike & Go-Kart Parts

Hi, I'm new to the forum and though I've been building motorcycles for many years, I've never had a CVT-equipped bike. Well, that's finally changing. Since my knowledge of industrial engines and torque converters is less than diddly, I've recently spent a bunch of hours online, educating myself on mini-bike/go-kart tuning and fabrication. More often then not, the most useful search results led me to this forum, so I figured I should register and jump head-first into the very deep rabbit hole of Predator/GX performance. There are lot of very knowledgeable people here, building some very cool little machines!

I have a fairly well-equipped shop, but its quite compact, and I recently found my parts shelves running out of space. So, I decided to take a pile of very random cast-off parts from various motorcycle projects and see how cheaply and easily I could build a bike out of them. For my framework, I bought a salvage frame from a '74 SST/Panther 175 Black Shadow for under $100 off Ebay. I started hanging parts off it with a vauge idea of building a street-legal gravel runner for exploring the flat, unpaved farm roads of rural Kansas.

IMG_2036-web.jpg

Originally, I was thinking that a Yamaha Blaster 200 motor would go nicely in this frame, but that turned out to be a more expensive proposition than I had expected. Meanwhile, a friend of mine recently helped build a KX/Predator 212 swap, which got me excited about that option.

9E0B4388-FE02-479F-A750-1CE6A281142A.jpeg

So... I picked up an LCT 208 clone off Ebay for $99, along with a generic TAV 30 series knockoff. I'm just getting started, but the components are coming together.