Coleman CT200U problems

I am brand new to the mini bike world nor am I familiar with engines so bear with me on this issue. I need some help diagnosing a couple problems with this bike. It is brand new as of today but there are clearly some issues.

First, there is a loud grinding sound when it is supposed to be idling but it also tries to move forward as if the accelerator is being twisted. When I lift up the rear tire the wheel spins and the grinding noise is not as loud but still present. If I use the brake, it will end up stopping the forward motion and the grinding but only for a few seconds and then it starts up again.

Second, when it is being driven down the road, I hear a clanking sound - almost like metal against metal.

Not sure if these two problems are related but interestlingly they do not tend to make the sounds at the same time.

Please help!

If just moving on idle..oil the clutch...check owners manual and read that manual from front to back before you start it..It is shipped with oil drained..break it in slowly and then change break in oil after a short time..do not use synthetic oil for beak in... If need google oil centrifugal clutch.. also that clutch will chatter a little until shoes wear in a few minutes ..mine was same way when i got it..that should do it..cheers

Last edited:
Hello ScoutDog...welcome to the OldMiniBikes...!

I think your grinding sound is your clutch. Another member on here from Raleigh, had the same issue with his. He contacted the support line for the Coleman bike's, they referred him to a local repair shop, and replaced the clutch under warranty.

Also, while waiting for help, make sure the clutch bushing is lubricated.

The clanking issue may be a loose chain, slapping against your chain guard...?

Last edited: