Fat Wheels

For a fat wheel/tire mini bike build, what kind of wheels are usually used? I've been following Low and Wide's build and I'm just curious where I can find these types of rims and wheels?

Most ATV wheels are offset- is that generally acceptable or should I look for something that is centered?

Thanks I'm a newb and I'm planning out a big wheeled mini bike. This site is friggin awesome.

Patrick

22x11x8 is standard fat tire size. Carlisle knobby tires are the classics, but modern variations exist. I think wheels are usually just standard 8" ATV wheels you can find at Northern tool or Tractor supply, etc

22x11x8 is standard fat tire size. Carlisle knobby tires are the classics, but modern variations exist. I think wheels are usually just standard 8" ATV wheels you can find at Northern tool or Tractor supply, etc
Ah I see. So I guess the question I have left is can I use an offset ATV wheel (where the mounting holes are not center with the width of the rim) and build a custom hub/axel to center it out?

I found that most ATV rims/wheels are offset. Thanks!

If your planing a scratch build keep your eyes open for a blown /up rolling chassis honda atc 3 wheeler the front forks and wheel work great and if you go with a live rear axle a simple keyed hub and sprocket drive plate

If your planing a scratch build keep your eyes open for a blown /up rolling chassis honda atc 3 wheeler the front forks and wheel work great and if you go with a live rear axle a simple keyed hub and sprocket drive plate
great idea on the ATC, plus I never considered a live real axle..

oldfatguy

you can use go kart 4 on 4 hubs for this. the front hub has bearings and the rear hub is keyed for a 1 " shaft. Then you just use 4 on 4 trailer rims. There are suppliers that sell the rear hub with bearings and the sprocket mount but they are hard to find. I made one but it wasn't easy. You could always just buy a bad dog roller with the big wheels too or just get them to sell you the hubs.