Let's see those ported Predator heads!

Gonna be doing some porting on my 18cc Predator head soon. New to porting, never done it before but I have a general understanding of what the process involves and the tools needed. It is to my knowledge that it is hard to mess up these heads (unless you have Parkinsons or something) with regards to the flow of the factory ports. I pretty much want to clean up the sharp edges, and probably radius the short side of the intake emphasizing on the corners of the port. Might go a little farther into it if I'm confident after that.

Of course this is along with the usual slew of upgrades including the typical Al rod and flywheel, box stock race carb, header pipe, BP2 cam, 18 lb springs, all that good stuff. Just want to take it a step further.

Been doing a little research into this and I want to see what you guys have done. I want some expert hot rodder input here!

rugblaster

Up front, I have no experience with modifying Predator engines. I did have a VW drag car that ran a best of 10.32 @ 122 mph back in the '80s......I got the heads for it from a well known cylinder head shop in California. It was aircooled too.

There is 5 things I can think of:

All out race heads don't work on the street.

Without a flowbench, it's just guesswork.

Small, well designed ports can flow more air at rpm ranges common to most engines. (I'm thinking of Vortec chevy heads versus traditional camel hump 2.02 heads)

Some of the most effective porting doesn't involve the ports at all, but rather in the combustion chamber in the area around the valves (unshrouding the valves)

The absence of a good, three or four angle valve job.

Last edited: