My Dirt Bug as it is, stock...

Hello Gentlemen!

Short time lurker, even shorter time member here at OldMiniBikes. However, I have spent most of my free time the past two weeks searching page after page in the Doodlebug and Honda/Clone/Predator engines forums.

Man, there's some good stuff in there!

Anyway, I am new to minibikes, but not to being a gearhead. I earn a living as a Multicraft Repair Technician in a steel stamping facility. This funds my cars and trucks.

I finally found the need to scratch the minibike itch. I have been wanting one for around 30 years, but have never quite gotten one.

Last Saturday, I found a yellow Dirt Bug on craigslist. As soon as I got off work Saturday morning, I drove over an hour to get it. It took some doing, but I got it to fit in the back of my Explorer.

Usual craigslist experience. Paid too much ($220), PO stated it was in good condition, ended up being more raggedy than I expected. I'm still quite happy with it, though.

Surprisingly, it ran, though rough. I did drain the sludge out of the crankcase and refilled it with 10W-30.

Right now, I just wanted to get it running as is, stock, while I order parts.

I removed and and cleaned:
carburetor and air filter assembly
brake caliper and pads
fuel tank and all external engine shrouds
clutch and chain

I pressure washed most of the crud off the bike.

Tonight, I got it all back together, with a new plug and fresh gas.
The little 97CC engine doesn't run too bad.

However, the engine is woefully underpowered and the frame is woefully underbraked. With my big over 300lbs rear on it, this Dirt Bug should be called 'Death Bug.'

I am now ordering parts for the build up. See my other thread titled:
My Dirt Bug as it should be, modded...

Plastic and straps keep it safe.

I bought this on the way to buy the Dirt Bug.

Not in horrible condition, but dirty.

Pitiful 2.8hp in the minibike, 7hp it needs next to the minibike.