Painting plastic tecumseh tank white

I have a newer tecumseh that was black that is torn apart and all the tin is painted white and I would like to paint the tank also,Trying for the vintage look.What is the best paint to use and how does it hold up?I'll post pictures when the paint dries enough to handle on the tin works.

Thanks,Scott

Last edited:
I have never seen a tank sprayed to change color that has held up well.....

It has been postulated that the gasoline fumes actually permeate through the pores of the plastic...so no matter how well you prep the surface it the paint will still lift. I'm not a scientist so I can't swear this is true.....the solution is to coat the inside of the tank with Caswell Sealer to prevent this.

I used it on my CAT plastic tank which I repaired and painted and a year later it still looks good....:shrug:

Because the plastic has some "give" to it, you'll always have a problem with exposing the original plastic beneath the paint. The top mounting area for example. Once the paint develops a hair-line crack near the mounting area, any spilled gasoline will attack from beneath the paint and cause it to lift.

Sorry, not the answer you were looking for. The only paint I would use that stands up to gasoline is two-part automotive paint. (Take your pick of vendors) A two part clear coat over it is even better. But this is moot, because of the reasons in the first paragraph.

You're better off sourcing a metal tank and painting as above. Or, sand the plastic tank with progressively higher grits of wet/dry paper, then buff with polishing compound and stay with black.

Because the plastic has some "give" to it, you'll always have a problem with exposing the original plastic beneath the paint. The top mounting area for example. Once the paint develops a hair-line crack near the mounting area, any spilled gasoline will attack from beneath the paint and cause it to lift.