Steens TACO Mini Bike site

Awesome site man.
On a side note, I know Taco's are coveted bikes but how many of the Taco's that didn't have down pipes for frames make it through all these years without breaking? Doesn't seem like a good engineering idea but i guess im not an engineer...

Mac

Awesome site man.
On a side note, I know Taco's are coveted bikes but how many of the Taco's that didn't have down pipes for frames make it through all these years without breaking? Doesn't seem like a good engineering idea but i guess im not an engineer...
Neither of the two early frames(1963 & ?) I have were ever broken. Maybe the rear suspension saved the frame.

....and the rear shocks on the 1963 Taco are plastic, even the chrome part.

(The value on my frames JUST went up)

Last edited:
Neither of the two early frames(1963 & ?) I have were ever broken. Maybe the rear suspension saved the frame.

....and the rear shocks on the 1963 Taco are plastic, even the chrome part.

(The value on my frames JUST went up)
This is a pic from the 1963 TACO catalog and you are saying that the shocks in the middle of this pic were made of plastic?

Mac

This is a pic from the 1963 TACO catalog and you are saying that the shocks in the middle of this pic were made of plastic?

......Yes, Just ran to the garage to use a magnet on them. Total Plastic outsides. The plastic "chrome" bells on my frame are wasting away. Hopefully the springs inside are steel.

(Got my other Taco frames loaded for Pomona....Now I hope some buyers show up)

Steen's TACO Mini Bikes has been updated.