The crap you find while working on old houses

joshua. c.

Over the years I have worked on a few old houses mostly as a laborer for one of my frends helping him on projects for him and his frends onn off once in a blue moon. Im not a pro by any means but I have come across alot of stuff that just makes me ask why?!!!

When I was insulating the basement of my friends old house I discovered that no 2 bays measured the same and they weren't even the same from one end to the other It was as if the house was built without a tape measure.

In the same house I found wiring done so badly the homeowner had the house rewired once I showed it to him. The wires were twisted together without wire nuts and were wrapped in electrical tape and none of the connections were inside electrical boxes as required by code. (It was a fire waiting to happen)

In his frends house I was asked to insulate the basement so I did. while working in the crawl spaces I noticed there was a crazy number of old dead wiring and old disconected plumbing left in the enormose crall space. when all this stuff was replaced noone botherd removing the old stuff. this is dumb because If something malfunctions is going to be 10 times harder to track down with all the dead stuff to sort threw. All those extra obstcles made insulating that place ten time harder than it had to be and the homeouner didn't want to spend the mony or time to fix it. I also discoverd a broken leaking pipe that the owner took over a year to bother fixing despite it being part of the heating system and leaking all over a section of woold wall.