Will the clutch burn?

Endo

Hey, I heard that running at 1/3, 1/2 throttle could burn the clutch quickly. The reason I ask is because that's where I want to start my son at. If there's a smarter way, please tell. The engine is a Honda GX160 (real one) 5.5hp. I will also be using a jackshaft.

trinik7597

Gearing will burn up a clutch quicker than throttle position ... Most drum clutches have a pretty low stall so they lock up quick at low rpm and as long as you stay at 5/1 or 6/1 gearing you will be fine

Endo

I'm not at all confident about buying the right gears. I have a T72 on the back rim and I believe a T12 up front right now. I plan on buying a new clutch (so the "T" may change) and a final drive if I need to. This is for my 7yr. old and I can't make a mistake. I understand there are four total gears, can you give me the correct "T" numbers for 5/1 and 6/1. I can stare at the gear ratio chart for an hour and still think I'm going to screw up. I'm new to this. Thank you.

Stay with a 12 tooth on the clutch and You'll keep the 6;1 you currently have with the 72 rear.. with the setup you say you have, that will work well. Just buy a good quality clutch. I'm running a Hilliard extreme duty on one for my 8 year old with a 2hp Briggs and it will haul my 250lb butt around without overheating...

Endo

I guess I don't understand what the jackshaft accomplishes. Other than being able to line up gears, what is the benefit when I have 6:1 already? Are the two jackshaft gears the same size, if so what size? I don't mind spending the money for either a stock js (I think I would have to move the brake drum/final drive unit to the other side) or a new setup that's all snazzy that the kid would love (drum remains on left, fitment issues may arise with clutch cover). I know I missing something that's probably glaringly obvious, but I don't know what it is.