110v Welding Equip?

I used to have the ideal welding setup, my best buddy, brother and shooting partner. Cancer is a miserable :censure::censure::censure:disease.

Well he passed a while back:sadcrying4: and I am without him and his welding now.

He was a welder/fitter by trade and could weld anything. Crack of your a$$, broken heart, paper........... and all the other trade jokes........:wink:

So... now I need something for light stuff around the house.
I don't have 220 at the house. He had a little flux core 110v that he used on exhaust and small stuff that he did an excellent job with, although it was probably 90% operator.

Not having the skills he had I would like to have something like it or possibly a 110v stick welder.
I have never seen a 110v stick welder operate and have no idea if they are capable of good solid welds.

Any reasonable suggestions would be appreciated, unemployment does not buy top of the line equip, I just need something to keep me out of trouble
(kinda how I got into a mini).:doah:

Thanks for any suggestions:thumbsup:

Neck

Growing up is optional
The problem with 110 is your output amps are so limited that the wire/electrode is very small, and welding with a 3/32 stick is challenging to say the least. A small wire feed innershield or mig, would be your best bet.

DaddyK

I think harbor freight makes a small unit. I don't think I expect much out of it though. I have a 110volt wire welder I am trying to sell to bad you are not a little closer. I moved up to the big blue for MIG and TIG and traded two sets of golf clubs for a gas powered lincoln ranger 250 and a new rigid gas powered (13hp Honda engine) with a 30 gallon tank. The contractor hated the stick welder when he changed to Miller and the compressor he was told to haul off by the manufacture they (yes there were two) were ran 12 hours as demos and wrapped in shrink wrap mine had a slight leak at the manifold. The junk I haul home LOL

rudedog