2 Stroke Engine on Coleman CT100U

Hey guys! I just recently picked up a Coleman CT100U from Walmart since they dropped the price. The bike is great, except I can't ride it on any streets legally. What I plan to do is put a 49cc 2 stroke engine on it. The current engine is a 98cc 4 stroke 3HP. The governer limits me to only about 20 MPH.

My questions are:

1) Will a 49cc 2 stroke produce close to the same results as my current engine?

2) Where is a good place to purchase a 49cc engine?

3) Do I need to spend a lot of money on the engine or will a cheap one do the job?

This is an engine I was about to buy, but figured I would post first before I wasted my money. https://penson.us/products/new-engi...K77U5PcGh-tA4ElTvlqdGjf-woN_afU-fHBoCjenw_wcB

Any feedback is greatly appreciated for a noob like me! Thank you

I'm no expert but I thing you will be greatly disappointed with the 49cc performance, not sure of good options for making it street legal.....................Tom.

I know the engine I have has potential to be quicker (remove governor, add mods, etc.), but if a 49cc engine would be able to put me at 20-25 MPH and I could ride it on streets then I'd be happy. I'm not looking for crazy speed or anything.

I love two strokes. But mounting that engine to your mini will be far more difficult than you imagine, and it will not give the performance you're seeking.

I would love to put the Predator engine on it, but I'm trying to make it exempt from legalization laws. Of course if that doesn't work, then I'll just go big ;)

I have noticed I'll need a new chain and rear sprocket if I go the 49cc route. Is there more to it than that? Would it not just bolt on and require normal engine mounting procedures (throttle hookup, exhaust, 4 bolts on bottom)?

SAS289