'72 Rupp with sloppy swingarm - how to fix?

I'm working on a '72 Rupp Enduro, and the holes in the frame where the swingarm bolt goes are slightly egg-shaped, letting the swingarm move from side-to-side. I see that the swingarm bushings have a jagged edge that I assume is to bite into the inner edge of the frame and help keep the swingarm located? If I install new bushings and tighten the crap out of the bolt will it stay put, or do I need to do more? I thought about welding up the holes and re-drilling them, but I'm not sure how I'd get them located properly. I'm guessing this is quite critical to maintain the correct wheel alignment. This is my first mini bike project and I'm hoping you can help me out. I'm a Rupp newbie, but I'm already having fun with the project! Thanks for your help!

JamnJM

Good luck drilling a weld. Won't happen. Try relocating the pivot point holes?
Photos so we can see an make better suggestions.....

Good luck drilling a weld. Won't happen. Try relocating the pivot point holes?
Photos so we can see an make better suggestions.....
I just welded mine up and re-drilled it. It worked like a charm. Had to do the same thing with the kickstand holes and hooks.
You may want to check the kickstand area out real well while you have it apart, chances are it will need some attention as-well.

When you reassemble it, leave everything clean and dry and use a new grade 8 bolt and tighten the hell out of it. The only movement comes from the flexing of the bushing.:scooter:

can't you cut washers with the correct hole size in them and weld them to the side of the mounts.