Alky to gas

I picked up a kart with a flathead on it, but I swapped for a clone because I know a lot more about them. I also had no interest in running alky. I am now in need of a motor for a project that I'm starting, and this thing is calling my name. I don't know all of the mods, but I do know it has a bigger cam, longer rod, and the cylinder will close the gap if I don't index the plug.
My question is, can I just reject this thing, or does it need a different carb? If I can re jet it, any body know what numbers I should start with? It's got the normal breather and an open exhaust header. I also have an RLV pipe and muffler I can use.
I'd love to do away with the whole "carb on top of the tank" setup. Anybody know of a good cheap carb that is a gravity feed? Help me, guys. I'm new to flatheads!

And what is the difference between a flathead and a raptor? Is one specific to racing? Is any flatty that is modded for racing a raptor? I think mines a raptor. Has the yellow fan shroud and says something about Briggs racing on it.

Anybody ever stick a clone carb on a raptor? I'm assuming a manifold would need to be built. I've got one that is stock off of a hemi I could use.

CarPlayLB

Lotsa questions David!

A good gravity feed carb is the Tecumseh style carb. I bought a China copy for less than $30 on eBay...works great! (and I have a manifold that will bolt right up!)

A Raptor is the racing version of the 5HP I/C motor...still a flathead...and it has the iron bore instead of aluminum...the yellow shroud is normally found on Raptors, but it also can be put on a scrap yard 5HP to make a "poor mans raptor"...yours probably is a Raptor as it has all the goodies. A Raptor will not have provisions for a governor.

I don't know about rejetting the carb...have to wait for someone that knows to chime in