First attempt at porting.

I have decided to jump into the world of porting.
I have started with removing the sharper corners and around the valve guides
How much more can I take out before I lose too much bottom end?
Please be gentle it's my first attempt.
I still have to finish them off I just want to know if I should go further

Attachments

What I did for my port floor is use a 1/4" wide piece of 120 grit emery cloth about 10" long. I just put it through the port and pulled back and forth moving the emery from side to side and the angle I pulled it at. I could not fit my dremel so that's that I figured for the port floor. Your floor should be some of your best gains in flow. Great job getting the courage to port your head. I was afraid my first time and so far have ported 2 heads but have yet to run either. I would recommend when you put your head back together that you fill your ports up one at a time and let them sit with a penetrating fluid like W40 or something similar and make sure your valves still seal.

Untitled.png flads.png You can roll the port roof back further. I don't know how far back you can go but know how far I went. The picture of the bit is the bit I used with my dremel at about mid speed. I used some 120 grit rolled up so it was stiff enough to apply pressure as well to smooth things out when I was finished.

I have given my head to a friend who does valve work for a living he has re-cut the seats and ground the valves. They look so much better than what they did. He said they were no where near right.

Ill see if I can find a bit like that at the hardware store I do have a dremel bit you can replace the sand paper with but its a lot fatter than your dremel bit.

I just dont want to go too far to lose bottom end

thanks

trinik7597