Need some help for an ARCO build.

Rescued an early 70's ARCO from the scrap heap. It's my first build and looking for some help and suggestions. What would be a good engine in the 8hp range? Also, if I were to go to Tractor supply and just buy an off the shelf engine how do I modify the throttle to work with a cable? Also need suggestions for the brake. My wife won't let the kids on it without brakes. I'd like to set it up for a hand brake.

Here's what it looked like when I found it.

Here's what it looked like when I dropped it off at HotRod Jim's in Luling TX for sandblasting and powdercoat.

Last edited:

TomH

You have a vintage engine that probably came with the bike right there that would probably work just fine with a little of this and that. You can still get parts for it if you need any. Not only would that be your cheapest route, but probably the best. You can get help on here to get it running if you don't know what to do. An 8 horse would be way too much for a kid. Easiest brake solution would be this right here.

Mini Bike & Go-Kart Band Brakes

Other members who know more about that bike, might have an original brake, or it might have had a foot brake on it.

Oldsalt

Good find. If you are looking for a different engine I would have to wonder what is wrong with the Tec that is already there? That would, IMHO, be the way to go if it does not cost too much to make it run. Anyone can go get a clone or some such and put it in there, but the Tec is the high zoot engine of choice for that machine...IM most HO.