overpowering a 6 inch driven comet torque a verter? fixes? other clutch options?

joshua. c.

I have an ohh55 powered trike that I've been slowly modifying for more and more power. as of my last mod switching from the stock carb to a tecumseh 10 hp carb I gained a ton of power but now my driven keeps un winding itself. It keeps pulling the clutch cam past the rubber stops and looses all tension. I tried another unit and the same problem. would A 7 inch driven fix this? and if not what other clutch could I use.?

I built my 196 on my ct200u out to about 15hp and 7000 rpm, I kept maxing the torque converter out by pinching the belt. Take your driver pully apart and see how it works, theres not a whole heck of a lot going on. Mine blew up in the woods and I found most of it. A trip the hardware store and 20 minutes she was back in action. Your probably pushing the v section so high by binding it that it releases some how. I'm not a professional or a mechanic but it was a similar problem I had to address.

SAS289

That is so funny in the video when he goes "So that is your overdrive, and it just kills it".

His problem looks like a driven issue. But I just can't see how the cam would roll over those plastic buttons unless they were broken or wore down. It doesn't even look like it's possible with the buttons in place.