Pop up Camper

I have actively been looking for a camper for the family, but have little to no experience with pop ups. Although I have been camping all my life in a tent, the camper thing is new territory. I have little ones ( 2yr & 3yr old) and want to have a few comforts for them when they come along.

Does anyone have one? What are the pros and cons? What types of things should I look for when shopping around? Any advice/pictures of your own is welcomed and appreciated.

2x6 wood shims are good to have with you for the jacks or if the ground is not flat to put under the tires...an extra jack under the door never hurts either. If you need heat or air try to avoid the roof top units..

Never had a smaller camper. My only RV was a 35 foot 5th wheel with A/C on the roof. Never had an issue with the mechanicals, but the roof did end up leaking and caused some damage to the wood framing.

Hey Scorpion. I worked in the RV industry here in Michigan for 6 years as a service and warranty advisor. In my opinion the key is to find one that hasn't leaked! Look in every corner under every cushion and in every compartment. Dark or discolored flooring is a key, then check for softness in the floor. Make sure to have it FULLY set up, then check every inch of the ceiling - especially the corners! Dark rusty staples and loose trim battens are sure clues. Top repairs are expensive and up here the average shop rate is crowding $120/hour. Next check all the canvas for mold, black spots, discoloration and torn seams and screens. Once you find a good clean one with the options you like check all the appliances for function. Refrigerators are the most expensive so smell inside for a strong ammonia smell and look in from the back at the coils for yellowish powder, both indicating failure. Many pop ups have 3 way fridges; 12 volt, propane and electric. They don't work like residential units with coolant but are absorption units and work with heat. $800 and up for a replacement. A/C units