spray painting your frame??

sandblast, primer (usually use spray bomb), then paint. If you sandblast then I would not advise you spray bomb them because it will look dull and pitted. you need a think car type paint if you know what I mean.
If you have more patience than me then you could sand it by hand, then a spray bomb might look ok with enough coats.
I am an expert by no means, this is just what I have found, Am interested in what others think/do.

if you want to sand blastyou can do it with baking soda it is ultra fine itwill not harm the metal just the rust but it takes alot of baking soda to do so us dupont epoxt primer it is thick enough to fill in minor scrapes and scratches and sandable you can go to auto paint supply houses and some can mix car paint in any color you want and put it in a spray can for like $ 15.00 you can get a single stage paint so you don`t have to clear coat it and still be shiney

JTsmks

Guy's these are small frames. Me and my son are stripping our manco in a good paint stripper then using a metal prep and quality filler primer, shoot with a good quality automotive rattle can and add a clear coat. Most people make the mistake of handling it too soon. Let it dry/set-up for at least a week before installing items to allow it to fully cure/solidify. It will only take two passes with the stripper to get it done which is alot better then sanding/feathering/ sanding/feathering sanding/feathering........YUCK!

First they need to be clean from grease and a good biodegradable stripper and pressure washer will take care if that and paint build up.

I like to sandblast because it's the only way to get everything, I was doing it in the back yard and it's not fun in the sun but then I tried a local blasting shop and they only charged me $26 a bike out the door (cleaned) NO BRAINER!