worst craigslist barter

So I go out to barter my doodle bug frame seat and wheels for a 6.5hp motor for my Baja mini bike, I just bartered for but it had a seized engine. So the kid didn't know anything about the motor and it was raining so we did it quick and then when I got home I took off the gas tank and saw this

I'm no mechanic but it looks like someone cut off the throttle. Is there a point to doing that? Is this motor just good for repacement parts now?

They removed the full governor assembly. :doah:.
You now have 3 options....
1) Use the motor and buy a billet rod and flywheel for saftey.
2) Post a wanted add for all the parts needed to re-install it from someone who removed it and installed billet parts.
3) Use it for parts
Just live and learn from this..

Last edited:
Also there's a new sealant or something around the engine I assume someones been in there if that's where I would put the parts mentioned.

I Havnt tried to put gas and oil in it to see if it'll.fire because I didn't see anywhere.to attach my throttle cable to

well it looks like ya may have gotten screwed on it . hope ya didnt give to much on it . what i would do is take it down all the way to bare block and look it over to see just whats been done in there and see if its runable or just pretty scrap .
it may be ok inside and just need some cleaning up or it could be a bubba job and ......

KB2ROCKET

You can still use the engine without a govenor im not saying its perfectly safe no motor really is.... judt dont rev the crap out of it I cant remember ever having a kart or mini that used a govenor

As others have said you can't go wrong with a predator.
Now to make the best of a bad barter , you have the oportunity to start a performance build from the ground up.
There seems to be performance parts coming up for sale quite often in the classifieds at reasonable prices , you can go as mild or wild as you need
Good luck :thumbsup: