Anybody ever replace a baseboard gas boiler furnace? Costs?

MikeBear

We might be switching houses, and the new (to us) house MAY need the gas boiler furnace replaced fairly soon. I have NO experience at all with gas boilers. I've never lived in a house that had anything other than the old gas forced-air through ductwork types.

What sort of cost might we be talking for this sort of boiler furnace to be replaced? I can't do this work myself, so it would have to be done by a regular furnace company.

I'm just curious about approximate costs? Do they also have to replace the baseboard radiators to match with a new furnace?

The house is a bi-level, and has about 1900 square feet heated total. The present boiler is like 35 years old, and fairly small compared to a forced air furnace. Pretty old for a furnace...

Hello Mike : Well as a retired heating contractor my specialty and favorite types of jobs was hydronic systems and I have done a lot of conversions that were homes with baseboard, in floor and even wall heat. My favorite systems are using American Polaris high efficiency water heaters. I your case you would have to run a dual pass heat exchanger and a pump to circulate the closed system water in the base boards and another pump to circulate the hot water from the main households water heater that runs @ 96% efficiency. A Polaris water heater with say a 50 gallon tank and a 100,000 burner would supply all your heat for winter time and all the hot water you could ever want.
Another type with about the same efficiency is a unit that I like made by Weil McClain called the Ultra Gas S3 boiler. I did a log cabin kit home and replaced a 30 year old Montgomery Wards boiler and that system worked great and used the existing systems old pumps. When you look at a system like the Polaris it will be working all year long and will give you a much shorter pay back of the money spent.
Always here to help in any way. Steve

MikeBear