Capguncowboy's 1970 Rupp Roadster - JFF

capguncowboy

-- I'm not quite ready to start the restoration process (still waiting on a few parts), but wanted to get the entry in before the deadline.

I'm not sure if this will be a trophy bike or not, so I'm just entering it in the JFF class. I'm sure I'll be asking lots of questions -- like how the jackshaft comes apart if that stupid little pin won't come out...

capguncowboy

I've been wondering about you Andrew . :thumbsup: Good Luck on this build !
Luck is one thing -- Money is another! I've been stockpiling parts for the past 2 months (most of which aren't even in the initial picture). I'm about tapped at the moment and still need to get a few things from BlackWidowMotorsports. Hopefully, I'll have the frame stripped down by the end of the week. I am still torn between powercoating and paint, but I'm leaning towards paint so I can try out my new gun. I might get a buddy to help me with that since it's my first attempt, and I hear metallic is more difficult to spray than non-metallic paint.

rugblaster

I like paint versus powder coat because I can do it myself. It is more satisfying to me. If you use a 2 stage product you won't have to worry about it being metallic to much. There are no big panels to paint, so overlap isn't much of an issue. The base goes down almost like primer. observe flash time between coats (2 or three of base and clear) and you'll be good.

A painter once showed me a trick to know when the next coat goes down. Get a piece of scrap tubing or a body panel and shoot it when you start painting. After a few minutes, touch the spare panel with the tip of your finger. When the bike is ready for another coat, you will just leave a finger print and there won't be strings of paint from your finger to the test panel. This insures all the solvents have left. This tip alone has improved my painting more than anything else. Also don't paint when the humidity is more than 60% or so.