Doodlebug/Baja quality issues??

hey guys, im new to the minibike world and recently picked up a 70' Cat 300x. it's really fun and i wanted someone to ride with, so i picked up a 97cc Baja Racer (same as doodlebug, but green) for $200 new off ebay... i was really excited to get it and thought i got the deal of a lifetime.. when i got it home and started to REALLY look it over, i noticed the build/quality wasnt as solid as the Cat i have is.. it's not a ONE piece design as there is a seam/weld under the engine plate. the engine plate itself isnt as thick as the Cat, nor is the overall tubing?? it's technically a bigger bike, BUT, it's lighter than my Cat. oh, and there's also a sticker on back, "made in china" haha. i rode it and the engine is so underpowered it barely got up my driveway (and i only weigh 160lbs). the brake lever is cheap plastic, and when i went to adjust it, you could see the threading on the cable just cross thread the handle with plastic filing coiling off. the chain is thinner and cheaper, as well as the sprockets - it's just a cheap bike! i guess what i want to know is, have any of you bent, or maybe even broken a weld on the doodlebug?? i wanted to get a bigger 5hp briggs and give it some power cause i do like how it looks and though the frame is thinner, cheaper and weaker, i do like its design (the handle on the rear, and it's just ergonomically more comfortable than my Cat). i dont want to put an engine or money into it in general just to have it bend or break in the future! thoughts??

These little frames, as light weight as they, are tough, there are guys around here that race them that weigh 250-300 lbs. and ride them hard with hopped up 6.5s on them with no frame or fork problems.

Last edited:
did you bother to do any reading in this section? :doah:

we have members that are 350+lbs that ride them and there are a lot of modded ones that get raced too. i'm 250lbs and have a modded 6.5 in mine and haven't had one problem with the frame.